Fellowship + Honors

WRISE Fellows Program

Solar Power Fellowships

This pioneering fellowship is created by GRID Alternatives and WRISE to empower aspiring solar professionals from diverse backgrounds by offering a unique opportunity to participate in North America’s largest clean energy trade show, RE+. As a fellow, you will immerse yourself in dynamic sessions, explore cutting-edge solar technologies, and network with seasoned professionals in the renewable energy sector. Additionally, you’ll have the chance to connect directly with potential employers to discuss internships and career opportunities.

The program, part of GRID Alternatives and WRISE’s workforce diversity initiatives, is aimed at women and nonbinary professionals training for careers in installation and design as well as college students studying renewables and related fields.


Wind Power Fellowships

Rooted in the legacy of our foundational Rudd Mayer Fellowship, this program annually enables 6–10 outstanding finalists to attend CLEANPOWER, North America’s premier renewable energy conference. By covering all associated costs, we ensure that the brightest minds have the opportunity to explore and engage with the wind power industry firsthand.

In 2016 we were thrilled to expand the program to include the Wind at Our Backs Scholarship (inspired by NextEra and in collaboration with AWEA and WEF) a program specifically designed to support women and nonbinary professionals in wind technician training programs.


WRISE Awards Program

The Kacie Peters Impact Award

The Kacie Peters Impact Award is a prestigious recognition established to honor the memory of Kacie Peters, a passionate advocate for clean energy and sustainability. This award aims to acknowledge individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the clean energy sector, embodying the values and dedication that Kacie Peters exemplified throughout her life. This award is supported by members of Pivot Energy, COSSA, CCSA, WRISE, and other industry professionals.


Woman of the Year

Started in 2006 the Woman of the Year honor is awarded to a woman who stands out for her leadership, inspiration, and significant contributions to the expansion and improvement of the renewable energy industry. Whether she is the leader of a company or organization, or works behind-the-scenes, she is making wind energy development happen at the highest level.


Rising Star

The WRISE Rising Star award was first given in 2008 and honors a woman relatively new to renewable energy who is already making significant professional contributions. Rising Star nominees show unusual talent, dedication, and innovation in their renewable energy work.



We couldn’t succeed in our careers or as an organization without our champions.  The WRISE Champion award honors an individual (of any gender) who has significantly contributed to the advancement of women in the field of renewable energy. This award celebrates those who have notably supported and encouraged the growth of women and helped to increase educational and/or professional opportunities.